Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2

Last update: Review & Sample Photos @ Cameras.UK (added on 11 May’07)

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 is a point-and-shoot digital camera (announced 19.06.06) featuring 10.2 million effective pixels, 4x optical zoom (28-112mm (35mm equiv) in 16:9 aspect mode), image stabilization, and a 2.8-inch wide Polycrystalline TFT. The camera is measuring in at 105.7 x 55.8 x 26.3 mm (4.16 x 2.20 x 1.04 in), weighing 187 g (0.41 lb) and running on Li-ion battery.

Jump to:
Reviews | Sample Photos | User Manual | Press Release

panasonic-lumix-dmc-lz2
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Latest Price

>> REVIEWS (last updated: 11.05.07) | back to top

Cameras.UK reviews the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 (rating: 81/100) and writes;
“The Panasonic DMC LX2 has many good points. These include my lowlight test shots, a high quality LCD screen and its style and design. It takes very good photos in most situations, but some people are likely to find the colours too strong from time to time. I would also have liked to see the camera handle sun glare better. …The Panasonic DMC LX2 is an advanced digital camera with ten megapixels and a wide angle lens. It has many features you would expect to find on a digital SLR. On the whole the camera performed well in my tests. In fact it was outstanding in lowlight.”

BusinessWeek reviews the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 (rating: 4/5) and writes;
“Physically, this camera tends toward bulky in an era when digital cameras are getting sleeker, smaller and lighter all the time. And its large Leica lens adds visual heft, making it appear heavier than it actually is. In contrast, cameras like the Nikon Coolpix S9 are embedding smaller lenses inside the camera body. The final question is whether I would pay the list price of $499. Maybe not. I also have tried FujiFilm’s $399 FinePix F31fd and gave it a higher rating. Still, with luck, you’ll be able to nab the Lumix for less than list. I’ve seen it available online for less than $400. So if wide angles are your thing, do some comparison-shopping before lining up for the Lumix.”

PCWorld reviews the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 (rating: 75/100) and writes;
“The DMC-LX2 earned excellent scores in nearly all of our image-quality tests. Most shots–even magnified enlargements–looked sharp, and the camera earned our top score for exposure quality. In our lab tests, cameras capture images while mounted on a tripod, but outside the lab, I tried the Lumix’s two image-stabilization modes (one works continuously, and the other works only when the shutter release it held down, ostensibly to save battery life). Neither mode can prevent blurry pictures in extremely shaky settings (on a roller coaster, for example), but they will gain you an f-stop or two, which is enough to save some pictures, particularly in low light.”

Photography Review have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
“Even at ISO 400, photos printed at 8.5×11 had plenty of detail and looked natural. Sure, there’s visible noise. But it’s not unreasonable or distracting and I can live with it. I even made a print from an underexposed ISO 800 image that was brightened up with Photoshop – a sure recipe for lots of digital noise. Although the print is pretty chunky, I don’t find it unpleasant and I’m pretty happy with it. The LX2 doesn’t match digital SLR image quality. But overall I think it’s pretty good….The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 is a good choice for experienced photographers who want a compact, full-featured digital camera with manual exposure controls that doesn’t need to fit in a pocket. The LX2 is also a good camera for beginning photographers who want manual controls but can’t afford or don’t want the hassle of a digital SLR. The LX2′s manual exposure controls offer the beginner everything they need to learn basic photographic rules and techniques. “

DigitalCameraInfo have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
“The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 is certainly a better deal than the previously released LX1, which debuted at a pricey $599. The LX2 boasts a new faster processor, 10.2 MP CCD, better resolutions in movie and still modes, a larger 16:9 optimized 2.8-inch LCD display, the same menus and many of the same control options. Add all these improvements and the new LX2 outdoes its predecessor in every way. While the hefty price tag is still excessive, it is really the only option for a native 16:9 chip at the moment. Expect the $499 price tag of the LX2 to drop with a little time. Considering the improvements made, this camera makes a far better option than the LX1, although I can’t say its image quality justifies the $500 price. “

Steve’sDigicams have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
” Luckily, the LX2′s 10-megapixel results were good…Outdoors, the majority of our images were sharp, and showed nice exposure and color saturation. Noise levels were average for a consumer model. At ISO 400 and below, there are typical amounts present, however, as the sensitivity is increased (800 and 1600) noise is an issue…Bottom line – I have mixed feelings about this new Lumix model. While offering some awesome features, and a wealth of exposure controls, the higher noise and poor movie mode quality is disappointing. And, with an MSRP of US$499.95, it’s also a bit overpriced. Especially when you consider some of the alternative 10-megapixel models, like Canon PowerShot A640 which can be had for about $100 less.”

Photoxels have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
“The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 has very good handling for such a compact digital camera. Though the controls are small and we do recommend that you try them out (especially the joystick) first before you purchase, they provide a superb level of photographic control that advanced photographers will appreciate…We find the overall image quality of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 at ISO 100 to be very good to excellent with good details in the shadows and highlights. ISO 200 is usable. Noise is objectionable at higher ISOs.”

ImagingResource have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
“If this camera has any faults, it would be only that I wish image quality were slightly better. Yes, I know I said the camera produced very good images, but on the next version I’d like to see Panasonic tone down the color saturation a bit while improving the camera’s dynamic range. Noise is also still a problem at all ISO settings, especially at ISO 800 and 1,600, but it’s much better overall than on the LX1 thanks to the LSI Venus Engine III. With the great capabilities for shooting wide and the incredible automatic and manual functionality you get with the Panasonic LX2, the blips I’ve mentioned are certainly not make or break issues here. Like the LX1 before it, the Panasonic LX2 is quite worthy of a Dave’s Pick. “

CNET have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they rate the camera 7.4/10 and write;
“In all other respects, the LX2′s photos are quite decent, with excellent white balance, exposure, dynamic range, and color saturation. There are few optical artifacts, most notably fringing, and though there’s a bit of lens distortion at the wide end of the 28mm-to-112mm-equivalent, 4X zoom lens, it’s relatively symmetrical and fairly unobtrusive. Movies don’t quite measure up, though. They’re full of compression artifacts, and you can’t zoom while you’re shooting…The bottom line: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 is a good choice for an enthusiast looking for a powerful camera that can fit into a jacket pocket. “

Popular Photography Magazine have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they rate the camera 7.4/10 and write;
“The LX2′s video capabilities are impressive. Its 16:9 HD mode shoots 1280×720-pixel frames at 15 fps and 848×480-pixel (wide VGA) at 30 fps. In the 4:3 aspect ratio, you can record normal VGA (640×480-pixels) and lower-resolution QVGA at 30 fps. Sound is mono, and the zoom doesn’t work while recording video, despite being described as “slow zoom” in the manual…In all, the Lumix DMC-LX2 is the kind of upgrade we like. It overcomes most of the weaknesses of the LX1, except for the limited flash range. And with its improved low-light noise reduction and image stabilization, you might not even care about the flash. What you’re sure to care about: this camera’s excellent image quality, delightful LCD, super Leica lens, and $500 street price.”

DigitalCameraReview have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 and write;
“Overall image quality is about average (for 6 -10 megapixel P&S digicams) – general detail capture is very good and shadow detail is also impressive. Highlight detail is acceptable, but lacks punch and looks a bit flat. Noise is barely discernible at ISO 100, but it is noticeable at ISO 200. Above ISO 200 noise is so prevalent that it begins to affect image sharpness as the LX2 softens detail to hide the noise. ISO 800 and ISO 1600 images are so noisy they are essentially useless (unless the shooter happens upon the Loch Ness Monster or an Alien abduction in progress). “

PhotographyBlog have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they rate the camera 4/5 and write;
“The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 produced images of average quality during the review period. The 10 megapixel images were a little soft straight out of the camera at the default sharpen setting of Standard and either require some further sharpening in an application like Adobe Photoshop, or you should set the in-camera sharpening to High. The Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2′s dealt quite well with chromatic aberrations, with limited purple fringing effects appearing only in very high contrast situations. Macro performance is average, allowing you to focus as close as 5 cms away from the subject. The built-in flash worked OK indoors, with little red-eye and good exposure…Anti-shake is a feature that sets this camera apart from its competitors and one that works very well when hand-holding the camera in low-light conditions or when using the telephoto end of the zoom range. “

Megapixel have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they rate the camera 70% and write;
“Combining an image format that is very appealing, with a good stabilized lens, the DMC-LX2 deserves the attention, in particular, of those that have already made the switch to HDTV, and would appreciate having a camera with the same aspect ratio. With the addition of the HDTV Photo Player (DMW-SP1), which converts the LX2′s 10-megapixel image to one that precisely matches HDTV’s definition, the LX2 can be both a digital slide projector, but also the source of excellent prints up to 14 x 8 inches….Positives: Very good image quality when RAW images are processed, 16:9 image format, Image stabilizer, All the most important capture modes, Excellent lens with no distortion, Excellent and powerful software. Negatives: Sensitive to noise, JPEG compression a bit too harsh, Best results are obtained with processed RAW images.”

CameraLabs have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they rate the camera 9.2/10 for functionality and 8.8/10 for photographic quality;
“It’s only when you shoot above 200 ISO that things start to go wrong. There may be several noise reduction options available, but as our outdoor results page shows, none deliver particularly pleasing images. Sure if you’re only producing postcard sized prints and rarely zoom-in closer than 50% on-screen, you’ll be fine, but the LX2’s so appealing to enthusiasts it’ll be hard for them to accept small prints and avoid 100% examination all the time. Besides, it’s crazy to buy a 10 Megapixel camera but be restricted to treating it as if it only had 5.”

DCRP have reviewed the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 where they write;
What I liked: Unique 16:9 CCD captures a nice widescreen image, Wide-angle, 4X optical zoom lens, Optical image stabilization, Widescreen 2.8″ LCD display; good visibility in bright outdoor light as well as dimly lit rooms, Robust performance, especially in terms of focus speeds, Full manual controls, plus plenty of scene modes, AF-assist lamp; good low light focusing, Support for RAW image format, Nice widescreen movie mode (though see issue below). What I didn’t care for: Over-aggressive noise reduction noticeably reduces fine details in images, Above average noise levels; drop in color saturation at ISO 800 and above, Unimpressive high sensitivity mode (and I’m being generous here), No optical viewfinder, Choppy frame rate at highest movie quality setting, No USB 2.0 High Speed support, Tiny amount of built-in memory”

DigitalCameraInfo has a preview of Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2;
“Who It’s For: Point-and-Shooters – Although the Auto mode is perfect for these consumers and the 18 scene modes would be a bonus, the LX2 is perhaps overkill for point-and-shooters. They won’t need the high end features like the high-definition widescreen videos and flip animation mode that it offers. Budget Consumers – If consumers are looking for a bargain, keep looking. Panasonic makes its customers pay for the full range of features. Gadget Freaks – Gadget freaks will like the uniqueness of the 16:9 shooting mode and the big screen. Manual Control Freaks – Although it has a manual mode, the real hard-core manual control freaks will hate the hand-holding the camera tries to do when you use it. Pros/Serious Hobbyists – Pros might like the LX2 for the uniqueness of shooting 16:9, but it’s not really a pro camera.”

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Preview Video by Gordon Laing

>> SAMPLE PHOTOS (last updated: 11.05.07) | back to top

- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ Cameras.UK
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ Steve’sDigicams
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ Photoxels
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ PhotographyBlog
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ PhotographyBlog
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ CameraLabs
- Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Sample Photos posted @ Megapixel

>> USER MANUAL | back to top

- Download Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 User Manual

>> PRESS RELEASE | back to top

Featuring Intelligent Image Stabilizern by MEGA O.I.S. and World’s First Intelligent ISO Control

Panasonic today introduced the Lumix DMC-LX2, successor to the DMC-LX1, which has received high acclaim worldwide for its unique 16:9 wide CCD, plentiful functions, and smart design. The DMC-LX2 inherits the f/2.8 28mm wide angle LEICA DC lens, 4x optical zoom (equivalent to 28mm to 112mm on a 35mm film camera) and MEGA O.I.S.(Optical Image Stabilizer) system in addition to an enhanced CCD capable of 10.2-megapixels and larger 2.8” 16:9 wide LCD.

Pages: 1 2


See also: Digital Camera | Panasonic





Share your photos with our readers, make your own profile page, create blog, get unlimited storage for your photos, discuss photography equipment & techniques by joining our photo community



Subscribe for our latest updates sent to your e-mail (no spam)


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

RSS feed

2 Comments »

Comment by Mark Farmer "x"
2007-05-31 08:52:13

I feel the LX2 is a great camera. I’m a photojournalist, writer, media/military affairs comsultant and 25 year resident of Alaska. I recently ditched all my film gear (about 20 thousand dollars original cost from over the years) and now use three digital cameras:

Lumix DMC-FZ50
Lumix DMC LX2
Olympus Stylus 770SW

Most of my work is for a wire service, newspapers and magazines — with the rest being TV appearences and print sales (produced on an Epson R2400). All three cameras perform well (and I work in harsh conditions). Sure, the FZ50 and LX2 do get a bit noisy at higher ISOs but I get around that by shooting RAW. I am a pro and love shooting the LX2 on assignments — I have had many published images from my LX2. I think that some people are simply gear/tech snobs and they complain just because they can (and that is their right). I have not had a single image quality complaint from an editor/bureau chief/print customer. I no longer check any baggage and I love being able to carry all three cameras in a small shoulder bag and my clothes, sundries and 17″ Powerbook in a Lowe Stealth backpack.

So, what I am trying to say is that the LX2 (and FZ50) and great cameras and they work nearly perfectly for what I need them to do. I plan to upgrade to the LX3 and FZ70(?) when they come out (I’ve had over 25 digital cameras since 1999 and I prefer to shoot prosumer and high end consumer digital cams as the new tech features are fielded quicker than in the SLRs). The LX2 is jewel-like and a joy to use and the FZ50 has the reach I need (I also use a Raynox 2.2X add-on lens). The 770 is built like a brick and makes great pictures — I use it as a constant carry camera and I often do the same with the LX2 (though I keep it in a little water-proof case). For most people, 7 to 10 megapixels is all they will ever need. I will upgrade to the LX3 and FZ70 because I’m sure they will have new features that will help me in my work (and not just because they will be cool or out-pixel or whatever they other companies). Don’t be gear snob (do you shoot and obsess over test patterns or do you take pictures of your family, your travels, your friends and the world around you). Just get what suits you and what works for you and be happy with it.

In conclusion, I heartly recommend both Olympus (I shot the titanium OM-3Ti and OM-4Tis for 25 years) and Panasonic Lumix Cameras.

-Mark
http://www.topcover.com
Anchorage, Alaska

 
Comment by Surefire Guy
2009-08-11 12:54:44

Very cool comment, Mark Farmer “x”. It’s great to hear your testimonial because I bought a Lumix camera a few years back and was very disappointed with the image quality (I assumed it was a poor quality lense). To hear of your first-hand experience with some of their newer products and how trustable they have been really boosts my confidence in the Panasonic line. Any idea how their lense compares with those of Canon? Thanks!

 

Have Your Say

Your Comment may not appear immediately due to moderation
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your Comment.