Olympus SP-510 UZ

Last update: Review by PCMag (added on 23.01.07)

Olympus SP-510 UZ is a point-and-shoot digital camera (announced 23.08.06) featuring 7.1 effective megapixels, a huge 10x optical zoom (equivalent to 38 mm – 380 mm), 21 scene modes (incl. Landscape, Beach&Snow, Night Scene), BrightCapture Technology for better low light photography, and 2.5″ LCD Screen. The camera is measuring 106 x 75 x 70 mm (4.2 x 3 x 2.8 in), weighing around 410 g (14.5 oz) and is running on 4 AA Batteries.


Olympus SP-510 UZ Hottest Price

>> REVIEWS (Last updated: 23.01.07)

PCmag have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ where they rate the camera 2/5 and write;
“Movies are saved as 640 by 480 QuickTime files at a frame rate of 30 frames per second. But at the highest setting, I was quite disappointed to find that because I was using an M xD memory card, I was able to capture only 15 seconds of video. Also, I was unable to zoom while shooting video, which some superzooms allow you to do. (You should check whether your superzoom relies on digital zoom, which generally degrades video quality, to achieve this effect. Always stick with optical zoom.)”

Steve’sDigicams have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ and write;
“Bottom line – While the SP-510 UZ offers good image quality and OK shooting performance, I still feel Olympus needs to revamp their storage media (xD.) Even the new H (High-speed) xD cards, like the one we used for our tests, are extremely slow when compared to he average “fast” SD card sold today. Think of the first 1x or 2x CD burner you ever purchased and compare it to your latest 8x or 16x burner you use now. But, with an MSRP of about US$329, I feel it still offers a good value for such a versatile and affordable “super-zoom” model, as long as you don’t need the fastest camera on the market.”

DigitalCameraReview have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ and write;
“Overall, the Olympus SP-510 UZ is an eminently usable digicam that will perform acceptably in a broad range of outdoor picture taking situations. Serious shooters will likely be put off by the SP-510 UZ’s shortcomings, but scrap-bookers, family shutterbugs, casual photographers, travelers, and nature lovers will be impressed with the SP-510 UZ’s 10X zoom, broad features list, and comparatively low price. Long zoom fans looking for a camera that can grow with them as their imaging skills develop should check out Canon’s S3 IS. Pros: SLR-like ergonomics, compact size, a nice feature set, lots of manual exposure options, and a 10X zoom. Cons: No image stabilization, lo-res LCD screen, poor low light focusing, PDF user’s manual..”

CamerasUK have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ where they rate the camera 76/100 and write;
“Well I am struggling with Olympus digital cameras in general. The SP-510 is another model that I have been disappointed with when it comes to good old fashioned picture quality. Based on my tests you are better off looking elsewhere….In my view the Olympus SP-510 is let down by its picture quality. There are plenty of similar super zoom cameras to choose from and to be honest I would spend my money elsewhere.”

ImagingResource has reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ and writes;
“Though devoted Olympus users might be happy with the Olympus SP-510 — warts and all — I struggled with this ultra zoom model in everything but the most ideal, perfectly lit conditions. This 7-megapixel camera has a 10x zoom, it uses digital image stabilization instead of the preferred optical image stabilization, producing slightly noisy, not always sharp, photos when fully zoomed in. I found the camera’s slow overall speed when taking pictures and performing basic functions to be irksome as well. It’s a pity because when the light is right and you’re not in a big rush (or capturing a subject that’s not in a rush!) the Olympus SP-510 can take some very fine pictures with rich color and great”

Popular Photo Magazine has reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ and writes;
“In all, the Olympus SP-510UZ is a very likable camera, and if you know and understand its limitations, it can be a very good performer. I can see advanced amateurs and even the occasional pro wanting to use this camera on vacations and in shooting situations where they either don’t want to or can’t carry a large amount of camera gear with them. It has all of the features that these shooters want in a small, convenient package. Novices will appreciate the ease of use and many helpful features, especially the Guide, which answers many questions that the beginner might have. It’s almost like having an experienced photographer standing next to you while you shoot. The macro feature alone would cost as much for a comparable lens on a DSLR, and add in the RAW format, endless exposure/scene controls and high quality optics and the camera sells itself. For the money, the Olympus SP-510UZ is a great deal.”

DigitalTrends have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ where they rate the camera 8.6/10 and write;
“In general the camera did a decent job outdoors in good sunlight. Focusing was fairly quick and the prints were reasonably accurate. Colors in some instances were a bit muddy, though. As for the indoor images, they were much worse with loads of noise and colors that didn’t resemble real life. The camera had trouble focusing subjects that didn’t have sharp edges. “

Megapixel have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ where they rate the camera 8.6/10 and write;
“In conclusion, the SP-510 UZ brings ergonomic improvements over the SP-500 through the addition of external controls that make it simpler to change settings, and which avoid having to navigate through the menu. It also offers an increase in resolution, adding an extra million pixels, but that comes at a cost, as the SP-510 UZ is noticeably more prone to noise than its predecessor was.”

CNET have reviewed the Olympus SP-510 UZ where they rate the camera 6.2/10 and write;
“At its best, the SP-510UZ can capture images with abundant detail and accurate-looking, well-saturated colors, with only very minor JPEG artifacting and little or no fringing. The camera’s automatic white balance did an admirable job of serving up neutral colors under our lab’s tungsten lights. Interestingly, the tungsten preset was less neutral, with a slight bluish-green cast. So, you may as well stick with auto white balance when shooting indoors or outdoors, where it did just as good a job at producing neutral colors when shooting in natural daylight.. “

DigitalCameraInfo have a preview of Olympus SP-510 UZ where they write;
“The UZ in the Olympus SP-510 UZ stands for Ultra zoom, and with a long 10x zoom lens, it seems appropriate. With a resolution of 7.1 megapixels, the Olympus SP-510 UZ (which is an update to the SP-500 UZ) sounds like a steal at $329.99. Armed with an impressive set of features including image stabilization, a decent movie mode, long battery life and an extremely high maximum ISO setting of 4000, it seems like SP-510 UZ could be a strong value.”

>> SAMPLE PHOTOS (last updated: 03.01.07)

- Olympus SP-510 UZ Sample Photos posted @ Steve’sDigicams
- Olympus SP-510 UZ Sample Photos posted @ DigitalCameraReview
- Olympus SP-510 UZ Sample Photos posted @ CamerasUK
- Olympus SP-510 UZ Sample Photos posted @ ImagingResource
- Olympus SP-510 UZ Sample Photos posted @ Megapixel


Feel part of the action with the Olympus SP-510 UZ

London, 23 August 2006 – With an Olympus SP-510 UZ by their side, photographers need never miss the action again. Thanks to its powerful 10x optical zoom lens (equiv. to 38-380mm on a 35mm camera) they’ll be able to reach out to distant subjects and bring them in for closer scrutiny. The 7.1 million pixel resolution means that every detail will be there to see. Should anyone need to delve deeper still, in 3.0 million pixel resolution, a Fine Zoom option can increase the magnification of the optical zoom to a phenomenal 15x.

Pages: 1 2

See also: Digital Camera | Olympus

Share your photos with our readers, make your own profile page, create blog, get unlimited storage for your photos, discuss photography equipment & techniques by joining our photo community

Subscribe for our latest updates sent to your e-mail (no spam)

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

RSS feed

Comments »

No posts yet.

Have Your Say

Your Comment may not appear immediately due to moderation
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your Comment.