Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100

Last updated: Review & Sample Photos @ Cameras.UK (added on 28 May’07)

Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 is a SLR-like digital camera (announced 26.08.06) featuring 9.1 million effective pixels, a huge 10.7x optical zoom (equivalent to 28 mm – 300 mm), sensitivity setting of ISO 80-1600, and a 2.0” (230,000 pixel) tilting LCD screen for easy high and low angle shooting . The camera is measuring 128 x 93 x 129 mm (5 x 3.7 x 5.1 in), weighing around 750 g (26.5 oz) and running on 4 AA batteries. The camera will be available from October 2006.

Jump to:
Reviews | Sample Photos | User Manuals | Press Release

fuji-finepix-s9600-S9100
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆ | Latest Price Info

>> REVIEWS (last updated: 28.05.07) | back to top

Cameras.UK reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“I feel pretty positive about the Fuji Finepix S9600. It will not appeal to everyone owing to its large size. If someone is looking for a camera that closely resembles a digital SLR in terms of look and feel, but is unable to afford one then this is about as close as you are likely to get. Picture quality is also good and I think the camera offers good value for money…The Fuji Finepix S9600 bears a very close resemblance to a digital SLR camera. It is aimed at the serious photographer and has a wide range of features. I was impressed by my test results and the Finepix S9600 is well worth considering. ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

Pocket-Lint reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“We have to say that we are a bit confused by the FujiFilm 9600 and where it now sits in the world of digital cameras. While like its predecessor, the 9500, there is a niche for cameras like this, the DSLR market has changed so much since the creation of these bridge models that the 9600 finds itself caught out. It’s not small enough as the likes of the G series from Canon to slip into your pocket, nor is it fully functional enough as even entry-level DSLR’s like the Nikon D40, the Canon 400D, the Sony Alpha or the Olympus E-400…A good camera at a good price, but one that is struggling to find a place in the world.”
Rating: ★★★½☆

Steve’sDigicams reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“The S9100 also performed well indoors. Fuji claims a flash range of almost 19 feet in wide-angle, and our results were in agreement. The combination of a 28mm focal length at the wide end of the zoom range and the powerful flash will allow you to capture large groups in a banquet room, yet the S9100 squelches its flash nicely to produce pleasing individual portraits and images of small objects for online auction listings. Flash coverage is also very good, illuminating shots taken at full wide angle with almost no light fall off at the edges. The S9100′s low light AF performance was very good, aided by a focus assist lamp that projects a pattern that helps the camera achieve focus even on low contrast subjects in complete darkness. ”
Rating: N/A

ImagingResource reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“The lack of optical image stabilization does make the S9100 a very affordable long zoom, and it won’t disappoint anyone who wants to learn how to take great pictures. All the controls are there, most of them just a button away… Not much has changed since Dave recommended the S9000 as “a great choice for enthusiast photographers on a budget.” The S9100 remains a Dave’s Pick for its excellent build, smooth operation, rich feature set, and great price. With a larger LCD, iFlash and improved image processing, the S9100 just improves on a real winner that can bring home great pictures. ”
Rating: N/A

LetsGoDigital reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“The Fujifilm FinePix S9600 leaves me with mixed feelings. The camera itself is fine and feels exceptionally solid. It really seems like a camera for the serious user. This is mainly because of the lens with the real zoom ring and the fine zoom range. The FinePix S9600 will surely please both wide-angle as well as tele-lovers. Also the large amount of buttons indicates a camera for the advanced photographer. This group benefits more from buttons than a button-friendly classification. Those who know more about photography will change a setting quicker to take the right picture. Even though some buttons can be on a strange spot, you will get used to this quickly after some hours of working with the camera. “

PCAuthority has reviewed the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“We were very impressed by the improvements on the Fuji Finepix S9600, although quite minor and minimal. The S9500 digital is a great model and with the improvements we would certainly recommend this camera. If you already have the S9500 it is probably not worth trading in, but if you are after a cheaper alternative to a digital SLR, then the Fuji Finepix S9600 has got to be the one.”
Rating: ★★★½☆

Unbeatable has reviewed the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“Other aspects of the S9600 will have D-SLR owners gritting their teeth. Although focus and shutter-lag speeds are good, performance is an obvious step down from even entry-level D-SLRs. Startup time varies from virtually instant to nearly two seconds, and continuous shooting in best-quality JPEG mode is limited – just four shots before the camera runs out of buffer, and then 10 seconds while the resultant images are processed. To top it off, you can forget about using the camera’s RAW mode – take a single picture and you’ll be waiting nearly eight seconds until it’s ready to take another.”
Rating: ★★★★☆

Photoxels has reviewed the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“The Fujifilm FinePix S9100 is a well-designed long zoom digital camera with excellent handling and fast operations. It has excellent proportions and successfully captures the DSLR-like handling. A couple of often-used features are still menu-bound and would gain much in practical usability if they were more directly accessible. All in all, a very well designed and thought-out digital camera which feels and handles as you would expect a professional digital camera to.”

XYZComputing reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“In and of itself, I think the S9100 is a good camera. It is extremely easy to use and after a few minutes with the instructions almost anyone will be able to do things once reserved for camera geeks, like take multiple exposures, shoot with manual zoom/focus, or adjust exposure time in an instant with a thumb wheel. It also gives the versatility of a point-and-click with its ability to shoot movies and never need a new lens. The S9100 does have its problems though. The design features almost no changes from the last generation and it would have been nice if some things could be addressed. Some of these include a non-locking battery latch, Fujifilm’s insistence upon XD cards when SD is the clear winner, toggling RAW is buried in the menus and cannot be quickly accessed, and slow focus in low light. The camera needs to keep changing if Fujifilm wants to keep it competitive and while it is a good deal at the current price, it would be nice to see a slight decrease just so we can avoid the tempation of going with a true DSLR.”

BiosMagazine reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“Fujifilm’s Finepix S9600 is an excellent choice for the hobbist photographer looking to familiarize themselves with advanced features before investing in a D-SLR and lenses. The camera is well build and robust, and its 2-inch LCD monitor is useful for shooting at various difficult positions. However, it would have been nicer if the LCD was slightly bigger. Image quality throughout the lens’ range is the camera’s chief strength, however. Colour accuracy is impressive and images were sharp throughout our testing. The use of AA batteries and CompactFlash cards also helps to reduce the overall investment in the camera, should you decide to ‘upgrade’. The Finepix S9600 comes highly recommended. ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

TrustedReviews reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“..picture quality is superb. Another minor tweak to the camera’s system is improved image processing, providing better noise reduction at high ISO settings, although it’s still not in the same league as the FinePix F30. Colour rendition and exposure were never less than perfect…The S9600 offers only a few minor improvements to what was already an outstanding enthusiast’s camera. If you’ve already got an S9500 it’s probably not worth upgrading, but if you’re looking for a cheaper alternative to a digital SLR, or a second camera for when you don’t want to cart your whole kit around, the S9600 is the best choice on the market.”
Rating: ★★★★★

Megapixel reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“In our opinion, presenting the FinePix S9100/S9600 as a serious revision of the S9000/S9500 is a bit of a stretch. And, while the S9000/S9500 was indeed a ground breaking camera when it was introduced in mid 2005, this is now 2007 and a lot of developments have taken place since. So, although based on an SLR design that makes it comfortable to use, the S9100/S9600 does not have either the flexibility, nor the image quality that dSLR cameras offer; and with a street price that is close to some entry-level dSLR cameras, the S9100/S9600 may be faced with some tough competition. Positives: Good JPEG image quality, Excellent colour rendition, 10.7X zoom, Powerful flash, High resolution EVF and monitor, xD and CompactFlash I/II slots, Excellent ergonomic design. Negatives: No real improvement from the S9000/S9500, Wide angle images a bit soft, Compression still too strong at the highest JPEG image quality, and not enough compression choices, No image stabilizer, Odd RAW format that is not on par with other RAW formats. ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

DigicamReview have reviewed the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 where they rate the camera 8/10 and write;
“The Fujifim S9600 / S9100 is an impressive 9 megapixel digital camera with a wide angle 10.7x optical zoom lens and a large 2″ display. The camera is one of very few to include ISO 1600. It has excellent responsiveness and is designed to be able to take great photos in situation the majority of cameras would fail. Although some people may be overwhelmed with the number of controls, with use and familiarity, they become almost intuitive. Particularly welcome is the pivoting screen (which could have been even better had it pivoted on both axes). The FujiFilm S9600 / S9100 is well worth considering – there are few digital cameras that offer so many options and so much quality for such a low price.”

ThinkCamera reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and write;
“Overall it’s a nice camera worth buying if you don’t want to go up to an SLR just yet. It’s feels nice in your hand and is well balanced. The buttons are placed logically and are easy to use. It takes SD or Compact Flash and you can have both in the camera at the same time so you could carry all the storage you need in camera. It uses 4 AA batteries and these last a decent amount of time. I’ve yet to go through two whole sets in a day! If you want a camera that’s a bit better than a compact, has a great zoom and macro then this is the camera for you. ”
Rating: ★★★½☆

CNET reviews the Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 and writes;
“The good: 10.7X optical zoom lens; sensitivity up to ISO 1,600; raw image capture. The bad: No optical or mechanical image stabilization; noisy images above ISO 400. The bottom line: Though high on features, Fuji’s FinePix S9100 comes up short on image quality.”
Rating: ★★★½☆

>> SAMPLE PHOTOS (last updated: 28.05.07) | back to top

- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Cameras.UK
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Pocket-Lint
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Steve’sDigicams
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ ImagingResource
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ LetsGoDigital
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Photoxels
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Flickr
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ TrustedReviews
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Megapixel
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ Pbase
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos @ DigicamReview
- Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 Sample Photos 1,2 and 3 posted @ ThinkCamera

>> USER MANUAL | back to top

- Download Fujifilm Finepix S9600/S9100 User Manual (PDF)

>> PRESS RELEASE | back to top

Fujifilm FinePix S9600: improving an enthusiasts’ favourite Powerful digital camera with SLR-like body refines the popular FinePix S9500

Fujifilm today announced the release of the FinePix S9600, replacement to the critically acclaimed FinePix S9500 and the new flagship in Fujifilm’s range of ‘prosumer’ digital cameras. The new model features carefully considered modifications designed to improve image quality as well as making it easier to use and better performing in low light. Refinements include increased image sharpness, a more generous LCD screen, faster autofocus in low light and improvements to the camera’s flash capability. These features combine with existing Fujifilm technologies to result in user-friendliness more usually associated with compact digital cameras, and a performance to challenge entry-level digital SLRs.

Pages: 1 2


See also: Digital Camera | Fujifilm





Share your photos with our readers, make your own profile page, create blog, get unlimited storage for your photos, discuss photography equipment & techniques by joining our photo community



Subscribe for our latest updates sent to your e-mail (no spam)


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

RSS feed

5 Comments »

Comment by RussB Subscribed to comments via email
2007-09-06 22:40:12

I just bought (Aug 2007) the Fuji S9100 and I have to say that I am completely satisfied with my decision to purchase. I have been humming and hawing about this camera since its annoucement a year ago. I think the feature set in this camera for the dollar is amazing. I didnt want to go to a DSLR and lug around lenses again. So this camera was a natural choice. I looked at the new Canon S5 as well but i prefered the Fuji. Plus Fuji (in Canada) offers a 3 Year warranty!!! How can you beat that.
The lack of image stabilization is such a minor issue for me. People become too reliant on the technology and forget how to take ‘proper’ pictures. I never had it in my 35mm camera so I wont miss it here. Beside, that is just one more thing to break ;) or go wrong. I’ll use a tripod or monopod.
I love the manual zoom ring (wtg Fuji!!!!). Image quality thus far has been great and with the additon of a polarizing filter for outdoor shooting, the colours have become slightly richer. If I had to complain about something about this camera it would have to be that I would love to have a protection (scratch protection) cover for the LCD screen on the back.
I give the Fuji S9100 two thumbs up!! Excellent value camera with lots of extra features for the more experienced photographer.

Comment by Padro
2007-09-06 23:01:35

Hi RussB, thank you for your review..

Did you get any chance to compare the shutter lag from this camera and a SLR camera? How bad is it?
I’m still trying to decide whether to get a SLR-like or a SLR camera since I’ve got energetic 3 years old boy who just can not stay still :p

Comment by RussB Subscribed to comments via email
2007-09-10 12:04:44

Padro:

The shutter lag is very very acceptable. There is a small amount of lag but not like what most point and shoot digitals have (i do consider this still a point and shoot camera). Having come from the analog slr world to the digital world (psuedo slr) world (I have been using a Sony digital camera for 5 years now), I expect some short comings with any digital camera. I didnt want to go throught he expense of buying a dslr and all the lenses (not worth it for every day shooting). The 9100 is a fantastic compromise plus the added benefit of having all the extra features. Many people complain about how the camera is a bit complicated with all the menus etc and having to ‘read’ the manual….. well all i have to say about those comments is.. what do you expect for a camera of this caliber. I think any of the higher end P&S (prosumer) cameras will have the same learning curve. If you want to know the cameras short comings or positive points one has to read the manual and get a working knowledge of the camera. I feela dslr would have the same if not more, learning curve. So far I love this camera. With an energetic child, i probably wouldnt hesistate to buy this camera over a true dslr. Everything you do with a dslr is doable with the 9100. I suggest manually setting the ISO to 100 possibly 200 tops. Like an slr camera … if you push the ISO you will increase the grain/noise. If everyday shooting was being done originally with 100 ISO film, then why not with digital as well ;) The Auto setting for shutter and apeture is pretty good. I would also suggest experimenting with Auto and Apeture Priority… only because the metering system on ANY digial camera is easily fooled by high contrasting foreground and backgrounds.

Hope that helps a bit :)

Russ

Comment by Harilal K
2007-12-12 23:25:46

Thank You Russ for your nice comment. I was looking at Fuji s9600,Canon S5is and Panasonic FZ50 with a little bit inclination towards the Fuji even though it lacked IS and SD memory. I finally concluded my findings in favor of Fuji because of Super CCD,28mm low end range,low noise level,AA batteries,very good in low light without flash etc. Your comments also helped me reach the conclusion faster.

(Comments wont nest below this level)
 
 
 
 
Comment by D300 Nikon Exposed
2011-07-22 06:02:29

Wow, what an incredible and amazingly practical overview! Particularly the type of info essential to generate a very good conclusion about which camera to order. Thanks!

 

Have Your Say

Your Comment may not appear immediately due to moderation
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your Comment.