Canon PowerShot G10

Last update (09 December’11):
- Review by PhotoCrati
- News: Canon G10 Service Notice

Canon PowerShot G10 is the successor of PowerShot G9 features 14.7 Megapixels CCD sensor, 5x optical zoom (35mm film equivalent: 28-140mm), DIGIC 4 for better Face Detection, capability to shoot RAW just like a DSLR camera, ISO 80-1600, and a 3.0-inch TFT color LCD with wide viewing angle. The camera measures 4.30 x 3.06 x 1.81 in./109.1 x 77.7 x 45.9mm and weighs Approx. 12.3 oz./350g. The PowerShot G10 is available from October 2008

canon-g10
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆ | Latest Price Info


Expert Reviews

Canon PowerShot G10 Reviews

PhotoCrati reviews the Canon PowerShot G10 and writes;
“Buy it. It’s easy to carry and will always come in handy. Besides, there’s nothing better out there in this genre–at the moment, at least.”
Rating: N/A

SteveHuffs reviews the Canon PowerShot G10 and writes;
“the Canon G10 makes a GREAT all around camera and even an alternative to those big bulky DSLR’s. Hang this G10 around your neck and you will not only take great images, you will also look the part. The classic style and feel will make you fall in love with it..”
Rating: N/A

OutbackPhoto compares the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ7 / ZS3 to Canon G10 and writes;
“We like the results from both cameras very much. If the ZS3 would allow RAW and more manual control it would come close to the camera we are looking for. The main issue with the G10 is just size and weight…. If you look for a smaller pocketable camera the ZS3 could be your choice.”
Rating: N/A

PCW reviews the Canon PowerShot G10 and writes;
“Pros: Superbly detailed shots; range of manual features; sturdy design. Cons: Chromatic aberrations visible in some shots; drop in optical zoom compared with G9. Overall: A serious digital compact that will appeal to those looking for high-quality images and a good range of features”
Rating: ★★★★★

PhographyReview reviews the Canon PowerShot G10 and writes;
“Overall I could be more pleased but not by much. The G10 ticks off just about everything I could want or need in the camera’s operational specifications sheet, yet, using those specifications are a complete joy. The G10 does a very good job at not getting into a photographers way.”
Rating: ★★★★½

LetsGoDigital reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“The Canon PowerShot G10 is recommendable without doubt, although you have to keep in mind that it is not applicable everywhere like a popular DSLR camera would be.”
Rating: ★★★★½

RegHardware reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“the G10 is handy for shooting paint as it dries, but useless for taking a series of fast-action shots. ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

InfoSync reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
Pros: Great image quality. Awesome architecture and build. Full gamut of features. Cons: Image quality fell a few inches short of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3. Canon should have capped the PowerShot G10 at 10-megapixels. ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

ImagingResource reviews the Canon PowerShot G10 and writes;
“A close look at the Canon G10′s images makes it clear that the Canon G10 meets the enthusiast’s standard. We’ve used no finer digicam and it easily earns a Dave’s Pick.”
Rating: N/A

PCWorld reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“Overall, the Canon PowerShot G10 was a pleasure to use, but I wish the company had focused more on noise control instead of just cramming in more megapixels. I loved carrying this sturdy camera around and I appreciated its highly useful dials, but for the money you can easily find better overall performers.”
Rating: ★★★★½

Steve’sDigicams reviews the Panasonic LX3 and writes;
“. If you are one who isn’t quite ready to jump into the dSLR world, but wants one of the most powerful and easy to use digicams on the market, look no further. With excellent image quality, speedy performance, loads of exposure options and manual controls.. I have no problem giving the Canon PowerShot G10 a very high recommendation. “
Rating: N/A

GoodGearGuide reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“The G10 is compact but it packs plenty of manual features and is ideal for an enthusiast who doesn’t want to lug around a D-SLR. We found it to be very well-suited to low-light photography and macro shots, but it will perform well in any situation. ”
Rating: ★★★★½

TrustedReviews reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“It is beaten on picture quality and portability by the smaller, lighter and slightly cheaper Panasonic LX3…. It’s still an impressive camera and can produce excellent results, especially in Raw mode ”
Rating: ★★★★½

Cameras.uk reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“I am struggling to think of a more impressive compact digital camera than the Powershot G10. It is simply the best. Yes the price tag is high, but you pay for great picture quality, build quality and set of features. ”
Rating: ★★★★½

Adorama reviews the Panasonic LX3 and writes;
“Where the Canon PowerShot G10 really excels is sheer image quality, and here its performance can only be described as awesome—noticeably better than the G9 (which is very good indeed) and far better than other digital cameras of comparable size and price.”
Rating: N/A

CNET reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“The good: Functional and fun shooting design; great enthusiast-oriented feature set; very nice photo quality The bad: Should be a little faster shot to shot. The bottom line: The Canon PowerShot G10 is a solid enthusiast digital camera for those who want something compact to complement a dSLR.”
Rating: ★★★½☆

DigitalTrends reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
Highs: Versatile wide-angle zoom; terrific shots in good lighting; great feel and ergonomics. Lows: Expensive; relatively slow; video should be higher quality; noise above ISO 400 ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

TheOnlinePhotographer reviews the Panasonic LX3 and writes;
“So while Canon’s Powershot G10 may not be the ultimate imaginable single-lens camera it’s certainly doing its part to close in on that goal. And, contrary to my October remarks, in the final analysis I did find the G10′s incremental improvements over the G9 to be worth the investment.”
Rating: N/A

PhotoReview.au reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“Being much smaller and less conspicuous than a DSLR, the G10 is a great little camera for candid and street photography. With the default settings, it is quiet enough not to be noticed and you can adjust the volume of the start-up and shutter sounds – or even turn them off completely – if you want completely noise-free operation. ”
Rating: ★★★★½

CNET.asia reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“Photographs taken with ISO 80 to ISO 400 were very much usable, with slow incremental digital artifacts that were remnants from the work of the noise-reducing algorithm. We found pictures snapped at ISO 100 to be the most pleasant and natural-looking. At ISO 80, the image was a bit soft, and from ISO 200, we detected some grittiness in the picture… ”
Rating: ★★★★☆

CameraLabs reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“G10 remains a superb compact camera. It’s built like a brick yet comfortable to use, boasts full manual control along with a flash hotshoe and RAW recording, has an excellent looking screen, a flexible zoom range with wide angle capabilities and decent stabilisation, and the potential to deliver images packed with detail – again so long as you stick to the lowest sensitivities and largest apertures.”
Rating: ★★★★½

CNET.uk reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“We love the Canon Powershot G10: it looks and feels like a serious camera should, yet makes operation easy with a selection of controls that aren’t as intimidating as they may initially appear. The Nikon P6000 adds GPS and wireless connectivity to similar specs, while the Ricoh GX200 is smaller and cheaper. But both would have to go some way to beat the Canon’s image quality.”
Rating: ★★★★½

ByThom compares the Panasonic LX3 VS Nikon P6000 VS Canon G10 and writes;
“If you need pixels, you need the Canon, hands down. If you need the fast, wide, defect-free lens, you need the Panasonic. You don’t need the Coolpix…. For my mark, the Canon comes the closest for my types of use, though the Panasonic provides capabilities that I sometimes need and stays in the bag, too. The Nikon will get sold off and I’ll go back to waiting for Nikon to design a decent compact.”
Rating: N/A

ePhotozine reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“ISO80 is lovely with sharp detail on the petals. This detail doesn’t leave but problems have started to leak through at ISO200. To be fair, this is at full size enlargement and for me, the image doesn’t become unbearable until ISO1600 anyway. While ISO800 has the purple blobs in the shadow area and a distinct loss of detail in the petals, it’s not threatening enough to worry over..”
Rating: ★★★★☆

PhotographyBlog compares the Canon G10 to Nikon P6000 and writes;
” The Nikon Coolpix P6000 is a good camera, but the Canon PowerShot G10 is better – it’s as simple as that. In terms of both features and handling, the G10 has the edge, and it was invariably the camera that I reached for first…it’s easy to declare the Canon PowerShot G10 as the winner of our first head to head review.”
Rating: N/A

DCR reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“The bottom line in our opinion is that in spite of some minor imperfections, the latest PowerShot G camera proves to be a very well rounded package. In short, even in the face of high expectations, Canon delivered the goods with its latest flagship PowerShot.”
Rating: N/A

KenRockwell reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“I’d buy a Canon G10 and use it for landscapes, travel, nature and the weird stuff I shoot instead of dragging along an SLR. Even if I was carrying an SLR, I’d rather grab a G10 than change lenses on an SLR. The G10 is that good.”
Rating: N/A

LuminousLandscape compares the Canon G10 to Nikon P6000 and writes;
” The P6000 holds up well against the Panasonic LX-3, with both of them being similarly sized. The G10 is quite a bit heavier and bulkier, with the trade-off being its higher image quality, better build, and superior features over the P6000, such as a multi-frame raw buffer and live histogram.”
Rating: N/A

KenRockwell compares the Canon G10 vs Nikon D40 and writes;
“The G10 is great for taking out of a big pocket for shooting nature and landscapes, but it’s too darn slow for anything that moves… ”
Rating: N/A

PhotographyBlog reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“The G10 is undoubtedly the best ever Canon G-Series camera, and is a serious alternative to both an entry-level DSLR and other similar compacts (most notably the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3 and the Nikon Coolpix P6000). It ultimately fails to gain our whole-hearted recommendation, however, principally because of the noisy images at slow ISO speeds”
Rating: ★★★★½

LuminousLandscape compares the Canon G10 vs Hasselblad H2 and Phase One P45+ back and writes;
“though on prints up to 13X19″ differences are almost impossible to see, on-screen at 100% one can fairly easily tell which files are from the G10. There are artifacts visible at the micro detail level and one can easily see other hints of what one is paying for.”
Rating: N/A

60hzproductions compares the Panasonic LX3 VS Canon G10 and writes;
“The detail coming from this 14.7MP sensor really is quite remarkable. I was surprised…. Either of these cameras would be an EXCELLENT choice for those wishing to buy a compact that can produce excellent results. Really, you can’t go wrong with either”
Rating: N/A

TheOnlinePhotographer reviews the Canon G10 and writes;
“Canon has now demonstrated that a small camera with a small sensor can provide the ergonomics, speed, flexibility, and image quality that would please most serious photographers.”
Rating: N/A

Reviews Video

Canon PowerShot G10 Reviews

Preview video by MegawatTV;

Samples

Canon PowerShot G10 Samples

- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ SteveHuffsPhotos
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ LetsGoDigital
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ RegHardware
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ ImagingResource
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ Steve’sDigicams
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ TrustedReviews
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ Cameras.uk
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ CameraLabs
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ PhotographyBlog
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ DC Watch
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ ePhotozine
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Images @ Flickr
- Canon PowerShot G10 Sample Image: 1, 2, 3 @ Canon
- Canon G10 Sample Clips;

Download

Canon PowerShot G10 User Manual (PDF)

Click to view or right click and select Save Target As..(Firefox) or Save link as.. (IE) to download

- Download Canon G10 User Manual (PDF – 6.67MB)

Canon PowerShot G10 Firmwares

Canon PowerShot G10 firmware Version 1.0.2.0
Firmware update rectifies the occurrence of a magenta cast when RAW images are captured by continuous shooting under the ISO 1600 setting or in single shooting mode with the LCD monitor switched off.

Press

Canon PowerShot G10 Press Release

Canon today announces its new flagship PowerShot compact digital camera: the PowerShot G10. Replacing the PowerShot G9, the PowerShot G10 is the first G-series camera to offer wide-angle imaging via a 5x (28mm) zoom with optical Image Stabilizer. The addition of a 14.7 Megapixel sensor and Canon’s new DIGIC 4 image processor ensures exacting image quality.

High quality, wide angle lens
With a 5x wide-angle (28mm) optical zoom lens, the PowerShot G10 combines outstanding wide-angle capabilities – making it perfect for landscapes, architecture or interiors – with the telephoto reach needed for flexible composition. Sharp, blur-free shots throughout the zoom range are assured by Canon’s optical Image Stabilizer, which offers enhanced performance via a 4-stop advantage.

14.7 Megapixel resolution with RAW
A 14.7 Megapixel CCD sensor – the highest resolution of any PowerShot model – works in combination with Canon’s new DIGIC 4 processor, for uncompromising images that combine high detail with extremely low noise levels. Such outstanding detail allows printing in sizes of up to A2, or creative cropping in post-processing.

For the ultimate in post-processing control, the PowerShot G10 includes a RAW shooting mode – plus support for Canon Digital Photo Professional software, for integration into professional photographers’ workflows.

DIGIC 4 for exceptional images

Canon’s new DIGIC 4 image processor uses improved algorithms and calculation accuracy, allowing the PowerShot G10 to deliver two major advantages: ultra-fast operation, and rich, low-noise images with outstanding clarity and colour reproduction.

DIGIC 4 also powers several intelligent onboard features. Canon’s new i-Contrast feature increases the dynamic range in images to bring out previously unnoticed detail in dark areas, like shadows – without blowing out lighter areas.

Canon’s anti-blur solution combats blur caused by camera shake and subject motion using a range of technologies: optical Image Stabilizer, Motion Detection Technology and Auto ISO Shift, plus new Servo AF – which, when engaged, continually adjusts focus on a subject moving towards or away from the camera.

Designed for more
With a range-leading resolution of 461k dots, a large 3.0” PureColor LCD II allows easy framing and ultra-detailed review of every shot; this is complemented by improved colour rendition and an exceptionally wide viewing angle. For immediate, fingertip access to key settings, the PowerShot G10 includes a new dedicated Exposure Compensation dial and dual ISO/shooting mode dial.

Complete accessory system
A comprehensive accessory system now includes support for Canon’s Macro Ring Lite and Macro Twin Lite, which offer powerful new possibilities for close-up shots and other creative photography. New compatibility with the Remote Switch RS60-E3 allows easy shutter release when shooting with a tripod.

“Like no other compact camera, the PowerShot G10 delivers the power to excel,” commented Mogens Jensen, Head of Canon Consumer Imaging Europe. “It will appeal not only to photo enthusiasts, but also to professionals seeking a powerful, compact addition to their kitbag.”

Pricing & Availability
The PowerShot G10 is available from October priced at £499.99 / €649.99 inc VAT

Features at a glance
- 14.7 Megapixel CCD sensor
- 5x wide-angle (28mm) optical zoom lens with optical Image Stabilizer
- RAW image recording plus support for Canon Digital Photo Professional
- DIGIC 4 for clear, sharp images, high-speed AF (including Servo AF) and fast response times
- Targets all the main causes of blur with High ISO Auto, optical
- Image Stabilizer, Motion Detection Technology and Auto ISO shift
- Great people shots with improved Face Detection AF/AE/FE/WB plus
- Face Select & Track and FaceSelf-Timer
- 3.0” PureColor LCD II (461k dots resolution) with wide viewing angle and optical viewfinder
- i-Contrast boosts brightness and retains detail in dark areas
- Dedicated Exposure Compensation and ISO dials
- 26 shooting modes with manual control and custom settings
- Accessories include tele-converter, Speedlite flashes and waterproof case
- Smooth, 30fps VGA movies

Also Consider

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

panasonic-LX3
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆ | Latest Price Info

Olympus PEN E-P1

olympus-e--p1
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆ | Latest Price Info

Sigma DP2

sigma-dp2
Overall Rating: N/A | Check Availability

Nikon Coolpix P6000

nikon-p6000
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆ | Latest Price Info


See also: Canon | Digital Camera | Point & Shoot Cameras





Share your photos with our readers, make your own profile page, create blog, get unlimited storage for your photos, discuss photography equipment & techniques by joining our photo community



Subscribe for our latest updates sent to your e-mail (no spam)


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

RSS feed

48 Comments »

Comment by Roy Williamson Subscribed to comments via email
2008-10-06 07:16:53

Oh dear. Canon has blown it. What a missed opportunity. Yes it is a fine camera but we were all saying here that if they had included a fold out LCD then Canon would not be able to keep up with demand. Oh well, lets wait for the G11.

Comment by OHM
2008-10-07 20:24:34

Oh dear, Canon has blown it…

Not for the fold out LCD, though… Instead, its failure to answer pros demand for a pocket-able camera resides in the small, noise prone CCD that they kept in the amateur domain, while adding even more mega-pixels. Silly, very silly marketing people prevailed again in the decision making process at Canon’s… :-(((

 
Comment by rs11gps
2009-01-15 23:53:51

I had one of the early Canon G-1 models with a fold out… it got in the way, was small and susceptible to breaking. I’m happy with the integrated screen.

I think they looked at their previous feedback and made a consious decision to go with the integrated screen.

 
 
Comment by Paul Guthrie
2008-10-08 15:25:46

Seems Canon can get some of the equation right, nice useable camera, good to handle, well built, useful lens, but give ‘em a gong for the noisy chip.
Yes I agree a fold out LCD would be worth the extra bulk, maybe an accurate optical viewfinder. Perhaps the next evolution will be CMOS.
Hey folks at Canon there is a great opportunity here to create something memorable, the perfect camera ?
You can do it, you have the technology. We’re all crying out for a Japanese built Leica M, Contax G2 digital equivalent, we know it will probably a bit more expensive, but if you will build it they will come. I certainly will, but until then I wait in bitter disappointment.

 
Comment by bob fielding
2008-10-08 17:21:08

just recieved my g10 camera.a little bigger than i expected.the pictures i shot are much better than my old canon sd870 and my sd990.the controls are very easy to find.now i can leave my nikon 300 at home when i travel.the quality is that good.paid list price at amazon with free
5 day shipping.the only problem i had was threading the black strap.highly recommended.very
good lens which is most important no grain effect indoors or outside on auto settings

Comment by Yiannis
2008-10-11 18:42:52

Can I ask, in what way are the G10 pics better than the SD990′s? Because they have the same sensor and processor and the SD990′s lens is the same as the SD950′s, which was pretty sharp (apart from the very corners).
Thaat’s because I’m thinking of buying the SD990! Also, is the Servo AF any good?
Thanks
Yiannis

 
 
Comment by ryan
2008-10-13 11:31:58

A fold out lcd would be a huge waste of space and make the camera weigh too much and useless in an underwater housing.

 
Comment by Rob Sandling
2008-10-14 01:21:56

I have a powershot A620 with the foldout screen and also just bought a G10. I find I can see into the LCD from about the same angles as I would use the foldout above my head looking up, or down below my knees. I was really surprised. I too was worried about the loss of the flip screen but seems to work great without it. :)

 
Comment by Rob
2008-10-14 01:25:34

I too was worried too about the G10 not having a fold out screen like my A620 does. It was surprising to see the G10 screen was viewable from most of the views I would normally have used the fold out. I was able to frame photos holding the camera both above my head and below my knees where I would have normally used the fold out.

 
Comment by Rick
2008-10-15 14:09:11

Why can´t you please a pro and put a real
22.2 x 14.8 mm CMOS CCD in the camera instead
of that tiny low budget crap sensor.
Such a waist of a very nice camera, make´s
it completely wothless

Comment by Guy
2008-12-10 14:43:11

Uh- Because a bigger sensor would mean a bigger lens, which means a bigger camera. Then what you would have is something called a D.S.L.R.

 
 
Comment by Sammy
2008-10-15 17:12:07

Why can´t Canon put a 22.2 x 14.8 mm CMOS sensor
behind the lens on this camera?
What a waist of this beautiful creation.
As now, high quality camera with tiny low budget
crap sensor no good for nothing.
Please Canon make a pro happy next time!

 
Comment by Jack
2008-10-15 17:44:49

That´s why i choose the Sigma DP2 over
this one.
Waiting for improvement Canon!

Comment by Jay
2008-11-10 21:19:36

The DP2 does not yet exist so how can you choose it.

Comment by Seloge Subscribed to comments via email
2008-11-11 03:00:25

Hello Jay and to all.
I think that the commentaries about DP2 are for a future, I hope it is not very distant as it happened with the DP1, but when somebody talk about a product that seems will be marketed shortly is normal that say something about the new product. Then now is impossible to buy a DP2 but some people are waiting that Sigma put this camera in the market and then we can check if the camera is good or not, among point we have the illusion of thinking that since Canon has not wanted to take advantage of the great opportunity to have the best power shot in the since market it is that, the illusion that something appears better. From my point of view and if somebody doesn’t teach me something better than what I have done with the samples of the G10, sincerely I believe that Canon has not guessed right at all. It has improved things but don’t sew to be the number 1 in this land.

 
 
 
Comment by John
2008-10-16 10:34:39

I am pretty sure that I will buy the Canon G10. I am kind of leary of the two negative responses that have very similar wording with the same words spelled wrong.

Comment by Briggs Subscribed to comments via email
2008-12-22 00:30:16

Did they spell ‘leery’ correctly?

Comment by Chris
2009-09-03 13:29:48

John was not commenting about bad spelling. He was commenting that the 2 responses were likely the same person, due to both spelling waste incorectly in the same way. Odds are the 2 responses that close to each other with the same erro were the same person posing as 2.

 
 
 
Comment by Günter
2008-10-16 14:00:28

Yeah maby the two negatives above are the same John.Probably he/she is very disappointed and unfortunately he/she is telling the truth.
Good luck with your G10 John but i´ll be waiting
for a real sensor compact.

Comment by Roy Williamson Subscribed to comments via email
2008-10-17 07:03:48

Thank you everyone for your comments since my original post.
OK, I can live without the fold out screen. I had wanted it for candid shots but if the LCD can be seen from as good angles then fine.

However, I really want a camera like the G10 so that I don’t have to take my SLR out with its lenses every time. I guess a lot of people want that freedom from time to time. I also like the idea of “Live View” and thats really, really what I want. I have looked at the 450D and the new 50D – I cannot afford a 5D.

So, if we are saying that the G10 doesn’t hit the spot, is there anything else I should look at that is at least as good as the G10 or should I wait for the supposed G11?

Comment by Jack
2008-10-17 17:12:06

Hi Roy!
if you can accept another mark than Canon
and like a compact format with live view and the capability of a fullgrown DSLR.
Take a look at the coming Sigma DP2.
The second generation of the Sigma full sensor compact. (Sorry for my bad english)
Regards:
Jack

 
Comment by Jimmy
2008-10-17 19:14:20

What about the Panasonic LX-3? It’s got 10 megapixels, wide 24mm, HD movie, RAW support etc. The reviews have been good too..

 
 
Comment by JGS
2008-10-18 14:31:12

“Maby” Gunter is also the same as Rick and Sammy! This is a little suspect.
Enjoy that slow, limited Sigma. Nice sensor though.

 
 
Comment by Frank Subscribed to comments via email
2008-10-17 14:55:14

Panasonic G1 when it comes out. Sounds like it’s not going to be much bigger than the G10 but with a sensor 6x(?) the size.

 
Comment by nosiaht Subscribed to comments via email
2008-10-20 19:38:21

Does anyone compare G10 with G9? Does G10 have any advantage over G9 that makes a G9 owner to go rush and buy a G10? Thanks.

 
Comment by TG
2008-10-29 06:00:23

Canon G10- New not improved.

I read the rumors on the blogs about Canon discontinuing the G9 and all the new and improved features for the G10. I pre order the rig on Amazon and sure enough it delivered today October 3rd, 2008. With the excitement of a 10 year old I ripped open the box and unleashed the new toy.

That is where the excitement ended.

they removed the Time Lapse feature that was so fun to share with friends. Why? the video file size is smaller. Why? Great new sensor but I think that Canon forgot why this camera is so fun. The flexibility to carry one rig to document decent stills and capture video for better story telling. I put my feeling in a video:

http://www.studionemo.com/2008/10/canon-10-new-but-not-improved/

 
Comment by MX5
2008-10-30 08:29:54

I’ve had my G10 a few weeks. Wanted something faster (in terms of startup and write) than my Coolpix 8700 when I’m out walking and have no room for a DSLR. So I wasn’t expecting it to blow my 40D away. Yes there is noise … but nothing that noiseninja hasn’t righted. Main grumble is being able to see the lens housing through the optical viewfinder.

But so far I got what I paid for and expected.

 
Comment by beatriz Subscribed to comments via email
2008-11-01 14:46:40

I am desperate and still using film. This is what I am looking for: Something small and lightweight with wide angle and zoom and a real viewfinder. I hate those screens in the back. As you can see, I am not at all into digital, but I am willing to learn. All my friends make fun of me because I have stayed with film. The Canon powershot G10 sounds good and the price is right. No one mentioned the weight of this camera. Help!

 
Comment by Seloge Subscribed to comments via email
2008-11-07 05:12:12

Hello.
First, sorry because my english is bad.
Well, talking about G10 I’m very dissapointed with the samples that I find in different reviews about this camera. I was waiting with a big ilusion that arrived to the market and wait months and months… and now I think that Canon it has wasted a tremendous opportunity since they had a lot of information of what professional people, amateur really wanted and initiate and she has paid remiss attention at most important that was to substitute the sensor for one of more size or not to increase the megapixels so much or to install a CMOS. I only believe that survives the angular topic of the great one. All the pictures that I have seen, even in ISO 80, have a lot of noise. I find better the sample images of the G9. What it hurts, I have had three cameras followed Canon and Canon forces me to change mark to be too superb and to wait that every year we buy a small novelty. No, I won’t follow that game.

 
Comment by DEvcon
2008-11-08 04:54:03

Why oh why didn’t Canon put a better sensor in there? I agree that the marketing people must have won the battle. Megapixels really aren’t where it’s at. It’s what you do with the megapixels you have. I would love to have a small pocketable camera that shoots raw to suppliment my 40D & 50D when I want to travel lite. Perhaps Canon will listen to the pros and semi-pros and put out a G11 that will satisfy us. It’s clear they are trying to target that market but then the consumer marketing folks step in and say “Cram some more pixels in there”. I’d rather have a 10mp sensor that shoots clean at 800 than 14.7 that starts going downhill at 200.

 
Comment by Aaron, London UK Subscribed to comments via email
2008-11-21 07:36:55

Firstly to let readers know I own both a DSLR and Canon G9, so can understand many of the grips some people have on the Canon G series. I think its is unfair to judge this camera against DSLR’s, keep or buy a DSLR if you can’t see the benefits of a G series!!

However one area I do agree with is the noise and sensor issue, this would vastly improve photo’s and improve the point and click scenario’s which to me seems very much where this camera is aimed.

The G series is a compact camera with a fantastic set of features not matched anywhere else (in compacts), lets celebrate this and not request bulking it up with rotating screens etc. If anything, Sony should be looking at sqeezing what little space they have left inside the product to reduce size, cost reduce and making their manuals more user friendly, so more people can benefit and ‘learn’ the pleasures of photography. It’s so frustrating seeing so many people with cheap compacts taking terrible shots, when all they need is a little more knowledge! Oh and maybe a tri-pod! ;P

 
Comment by JS
2008-11-26 04:10:24

I think cannon did not go for a bigger sensor cause doing so can kill their entry level slr market.

 
Comment by leoj
2008-11-27 08:55:35

I just bought the G10 and am very pleased with it. The LCD screen is big and bright. You can see it at a sharp angle. I’ve taken a dozen pics and they are very clear. The auto-focus is a little slow but the quality is excellent.

I also have a canon S5 IS with a fold out LCD. I’ll be selling it because I had too many out of focus pics. Especially on macro close ups.

Can’t wait to take more pics but so far I am very pleased with the G10.

Comment by Reggie
2008-12-02 23:03:27

I take lots of macro shots with my G6. How is the G10 for macro?? Focus OK in low light??

 
 
Comment by Ashley James Subscribed to comments via email
2008-12-10 12:02:28

I must say that all these “have your say” opportunities do is flush moaners out of the woodwork. I wonder how many might actually be considering one of these cameras rather that looking for something to criticise.

I have a G6 with a fold out screen that is too small to be much use, otherwise is is superb and takes excellent photos in good light and does a pretty good job with flash. I’ve kept it and even had it repaired when I dropped it because it was my first really good digital camera and much better than my previous film ones.

Reviews put me off the G7, but the G9 appeared a genuine improvement and I bought one and am delighted with it. It has faults as does everything, but it’s worth the money and mostly produces wonderful photographs. In low light images are noisier than a friend’s expensive Canon SLR with large sensor,but they are also quite pleasant and I don’t want a bigger camera because they are such a nuisance to carry, I’d never have it with me when I want to take a picture.

I can’t see the logic of the comparison with the Sigma DP2 either. A friend had one and it too was noisy in low light.

I may buy a G10 still because it’s good looking and a little better than my G9. All the comments on here are useless and are from people who have know idea at what point the noise becomes and issue and who seem to enjoy nitpicking. In my experience manufacturers usually know their market and have probably decided that the extra cost of a larger sensor would kill sales or conflict with others in their range.

Canon have a dreadful website, they are difficult to contact, their software downloads are impossible to understand, most of the camera software they supply is confusing and unpleasant to use, but I manage well with iPhoto and ignore it. It’s a big remote company but it makes good cameras.

 
Comment by Garo Subscribed to comments via email
2008-12-12 09:39:15

We currently own the original Canon Rebel (300 is it?) bought back in 2003. We use it mainly for kid shots and vacations. Love it. Once in a blue moon I pull out my old CONTAX RTS film (spent an entire summer’s savings on it back when I was 18 – some 30 yrs ago). Nothing beats the images I get from the f1.4 Zeiss. But, clearly technology has moved on. I’m considering a G10 as Christmas gift for my wife. I think she would use it more often than the Rebel (which she already uses often) and it seems cheaper than buying more lens for the Rebel (we still only have the lens it came with). I read about the issues with noise at higher ISO, but really how much will we notice given our old Rebel comparison. Is the G10 better than the original Rebel in image quality? Or should I just spend a few hundred more and get her a new Rebel?

 
Comment by todd clustivik
2008-12-17 17:53:52

I have just recently received a G10 as a christmas gift from my girlfriend and after playing with the camera for a couple of days I was absolutely astounded by the level of resolution and overall image quality at ISO 80.
I could care less about high ISO noise as when I shot film it was usually velvia which was ISO 40.I would push process that once in a while but the point is it was slow film. Since Velvia was by far the most popular pro film, why are people whining now about digital noise at ISO 400-1600? Nobody who shoots for demanding image quality would ever shoot at those speeds, then or now.
This camera is amazing at ISO 80 or 100.
People are vastly overstating this noise issue.
Put this puppy on a tripod, set to ISO 80 and get your light right and if your jaw doesn’t drop, then you’ve just clearly made up your mind that your going to dislike this camera.
Oh, and the image stabilizer is nothing short of amazing, enabling me to pull of sharp shots at shutter speeds that have me shaking my head, really no need to carry a tripod anymore into the field….

 
Comment by Sergi Subscribed to comments via email
2009-01-16 02:34:44

Dear Todd,
Everyone has his opinnion about all the things, in this subject, camera G10, you have your opinion and o.k. but I can not understand your question about ISO. Do you thing that a camera that has a price, 450 €, can do a perfect or nice resolution with only 80 or 100 ISO? I think that no, Canon play with us and for me is a bad forms of taking care of their clients and the futures. My cameras were Canon, p&s, but by the moment I will change this brand. I were waiting the G10 thinking that it will be better than G9, and have only 80 and 10 ISO and 14’7 mp in a little ccd is a big error from Canon. With this price Canon must offer more. A lot of people need, wants, hope take pictures with 200, 400 or more ISO with quality and G10 for me is deceit. Is a p&s, yes, but this is not an excuse to have made a great camera since has the means, they knew about the opinion of the market and the purchase price is expensive for not having had these considerations. For my it has been a great deception
Best regards.

 
Comment by Anna Subscribed to comments via email
2009-02-18 04:31:05

I need help. I used the Canon G9 on my trip to Germany last year. The pictures were great but I had a problem while shooting, the screen was blurry and I cant see anything. What tips would you recommend? Is there another camera (non-SLR) that can produce the same image quality but better screens?

Thanks!

 
Comment by Tommie
2009-02-18 21:49:16

I’ve noticed so many of the negative comments were dated in Oct. 2008 when the camera had just been announced. How can you trash a camera based of the specs?
I’ve had my G10 for 3 months and have taken thousands of photos. It is a joy to use and has few weak spots. Nothing is perfect but the G10 comes very, very close. There are compromises made in every industrial product. The ones made in the G10 are very logical and well considered.
Don’t knock the camera without having used it for a considerable length of time. Do that and you will love (LOVE) it.

 
Comment by Sergi Subscribed to comments via email
2009-02-19 06:33:59

Tommie, CONGRATULATIONS!!!
If you consider that the price of this camera justifies what offers then I find perfect but in my case I believe that it does not justify what is worth. Perhaps, imagine, the value that I give him that I say that about 100 € should lower it, in Spain their price is of more or less 460 €, of course with this price it is not worthwhile, for my, clear.
Max. aperture: 2.8 (better was 2.4), no HD video, no HDMI connector, little tele, noisy up 200 ISO, something slow, fixed lcd, it is not movable neither to protect it…
Best regards.

 
Comment by Jane
2009-04-07 17:18:43

Still too advanced compacts geve a certain food for thougt – to switch to a DSLR camera. But I like Canon’s G-series, and remember photographing with even G5.

 
Comment by BTR
2009-04-15 18:08:52

I’m thinking of getting a G10 but see the many comments about noise and Canon’s packing so many pixels onto a small sensor. So a question from a rank amateur: I see the G10 can be stepped down to 9 mp. Would that improve the picture quality in any way? Thanks for any info.

 
Comment by Karl L
2009-04-29 15:50:41

I have the G9 and when CC went under I got the last G10 for $350. I LOVE IT! I understand and accept the fact that in low light or at high ISOs there is noise. And I am not happy about that but once you look at the build quality and the funcionality and the 28mm (equivalent)wide anger this camera is a ball to use. On balance when you you get a lot of value for the bucks. The thing I see that is important is to evaluate carefully what you want to do as far as YOUR picture taking. Every camera has it pros and cons. Do your homework. Think it through and accept that no camera will do everything. This G10 has a LCD screen that is sharp, vivid and bright and you can see it form a fairly good angle of view in most light situations. I have held it over my head in many crowds many times and got nice shots. It will not do everything but it is a solid camera when you do not want to carry around a DSLR and several lens. Look for a good buy and have some fun.

 
Comment by rialtho
2009-05-23 14:27:28

why are the quick links still pointing to the G9, in sted of the the g0 that appears onderneath it? Copy/paste and did not change problem?

 
Comment by RMN Subscribed to comments via email
2009-06-03 23:33:20

G10? I am still impressed with the G7. I print gallery images with my Epson 1400 9×13. My landscape images are shot with 100 ISO in manual mode. The light weight and accessability of having the point and shoot at hand on long hikes makes this camera excel. If Canon continues to add more features to this camera, it defeats the purpose of a point and shoot in portability and purpose. That’s my thought.
Thanks.

 
Comment by Chris
2009-09-03 13:39:51

I just purchased a G10 after not seeing a reason to wait for the G11. I was looking for a compact camera to hike with when I didn’t want to carry an SLR. I have to say, that the “noise issues” are grossly overstated. I almost didn’t buy the camera due to some of the reviews, but after taking about 10 pics with it – I love it.

Many of these “opinions” are probably from people who don’t own or haven’t used the camera. Take it from someone who does – it’s a great camera. It’s not an SLR, if that’s what you want then buy one. If you want a compact camera that takes great pics – buy a G10 and don’t worry about some of these reviews.

 
Comment by tsintegrator.com
2010-06-22 15:33:14

I use to have one of these the don’t take good pics, they are some nice cameras out their now, love Sony lineup.

 

Have Your Say

Your Comment may not appear immediately due to moderation
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your Comment.